Doctor Zhivago Back Stage Tour

Doctor Zhivago – A New Musical is a 2011 musical composed by Lucy Simon, lyrics by Michael Korie and Amy Powers, book by Michael Weller; it is based on Boris Pasternak’s 1957 novel Doctor Zhivago.

Join ensemble cast member, Luke Joslin, on a Dr Zhivago – A New Musical backstage tour in Melbourne, Australia. You’ll visit the dressing rooms, see behind the curtain and drop in on the costume and wig departments.

Doctor Zhivago on

Based on the Nobel Prize®-winning novel and the Academy Award®,-winning classic, this sweeping saga of romance and revolution now comes to the stage as a stunning new musical. An honoured and acclaimed team of creative visionaries leads the classic story to the stage. Written by Academy Award nominee Michael Weller (Ragtime), DOCTOR ZHIVAGO features music by two-time Grammy Award® winner and Tony Award nominee Lucy Simon (The Secret Garden), and lyrics by Tony Award nominee Michael Korie (Grey Gardens) and Emmy Award® nominee Amy Powers (Ella Enchanted).

DOCTOR ZHIVAGO is a heartbreaking epic romance, revolving around the search for love during the final days of Czarist Russia. Raised as an aristocrat, Zhivago is a political idealist, physician, and poet whose life is tossed by the tides of history as he is torn between a life with his close childhood friend and wife, and the passionate and mysterious Lara. Zhivago, however, is not alone in his yearnings for Lara, and must compete with both revolutionaries and aristocracy alike to win the heart of the woman he cannot live without.

Doctor Zhivago on Broadway at

The cast for the Australian premiere of Doctor Zhivago – A New Musical at the Lyric Theatre in Sydney and Broadway

Character Original Sydney cast (2011) Original Seoul cast (2012) Original Broadway cast (2015)
Yurii Zhivago Anthony Warlow Jo Seung-woo/Hong Kwang-ho Tam Mutu
Lara Guisher Lucy Maunder Jeon Mido/Kim Jiwoo Kelli Barrett
Viktor Komarovsky Bartholomew John Seo Youngju Tom Hewitt
Pasha Antipov Martin Crewes Kang Pilsuk Paul Nolan
Tonia Gromeko Taneel Van Zyl Choi Hyunjoo Lora Lee Gayer
Alexander Gromeko Peter Carroll Kim Bonghwan Jamie Jackson
Anna Gromeko Trisha Noble Im Sunae Jacqueline Antaramian
Young Yurii/Sasha Jamie Ward Jonah Halperin
Young Lara/Katarina Stephanie Silcock Sophia Gennusa
Young Tonia Ava-Riley Miles


Year Award Category Nominee Result
2015 Outer Critics Circle Awards[20] Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical Paul Alexander Nolan Nominated
Drama League Award Distinguished Performance Tam Mutu Nominated

See More at TheatreGold DataBase