Groundhog Day the Broadway Musical – TV Spots – So Much Fun



Previews Mar 16, 2017 / Opening Apr 17, 2017

Now Playing

August Wilson Theatre

TheatreGold for Broadway Tickets



Groundhog Day is a musical comedy with music and lyrics by Tim Minchin, and a book by Danny Rubin. Based on the 1993 film of the same name written by Rubin and Harold Ramis, the musical made its world premiere at The Old Vic in London in 2016 and will transfer to the August Wilson Theatre on Broadway from 17 April 2017. The plot centres around Phil Connors, an arrogant Pittsburgh TV weatherman who, during an assignment covering the annual Groundhog Day event in Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, finds himself in a time loop, repeating the same day again and again.

In 2009, during an interview with MTV News, Harold Ramis revealed that Danny Rubin was working on the book for a musical version of the film. Rubin affirmed he had been working on a concept of a Groundhog Day musical for some time, and already had about 12 song ideas (weened down from 30) along with dialog, scenes, and other production aspects. Around 2012, Rubin had become stuck and felt it impossible he could make the musical happen as he believed he could not progress without the collaboration of a composer. Shortly after reaching this conclusion, Rubin was called by director Matthew Warchus to introduce him to lyricist Tim Minchin, who had just completed his composition for Matilda the Musical. Rubin felt Minchin’s work in Matilda proved he “can write songs that are funny and moving and smart and beautiful”, and the three started working on adapting Rubin’s book.




New York Times

The Wrap



Entertainment Weekly


NY Daily News

Broadway News


NBC New York


Andy Karl – Phil Connors
Barrett Doss – Rita Hanson
Heather Ayers – Mrs. Lancaster
Kevin Bernard – Hot Dog Vendor
Andrew Call – Gus
Gerard Canonico – Fred
Rheaume Crenshaw – Doris


Book by Danny Rubin
Music by Tim Minchin
Lyrics by Tim Minchin
Music orchestrated by Christopher Nightingale
Vocal arrangements by Tim Minchin and Christopher Nightingale
Dance arrangements by Christopher Nightingale
Musical Director: David Holcenberg
Directed by Matthew Warchus
Choreographed by Peter Darling Co – Choreographer Ellen Kane
Additional Movement: Finn Caldwell
Associate Director: Thomas Caruso
Associate Choreographer: Kate Dunn
Associate Director (UK): Katy Rudd and Paul Warwick Griffin
Scenic Design by Rob Howell
Costume Design by Rob Howell
Lighting Design by Hugh Vanstone
Sound Design by Simon Baker
Video Design by Andrzej Goulding
Hair Design by Campbell Young Associates
Make-Up Design by Campbell Young Associates
Associate Scenic Design: Michael Carnahan
Associate Costume Design: Daryl Stone
Associate Lighting Design: Joel Shier

August Wilson Theatre

Address : 245 W 52nd St (between Broadway & 8th Ave) New York, NY 10036
Box Office: Monday : 10am – 8pm – Tue – Sat 10am – 830pm Sunday: Noon – 6pm
Access : Theatre is not completely wheelchair accessible. There is an entrance via a Stair Lift that provides direct access from the entrance on 52nd Street to the Orchestra level. Upon arrival, please contact the uniformed custodian on duty.
Seating is accessible to all parts of the Orchestra (Via Stair Lift)
Wheelchair accessible restroom located near the upper landing of the Stair Lift

Full Cast

Andy Karl – Phil Connors
Barrett Doss – Rita Hanson
Heather Ayers – Mrs. Lancaster
Kevin Bernard – Hot Dog Vendor
Andrew Call – Gus
Gerard Canonico – Fred
Rheaume Crenshaw – Doris
Michael Fatica – Chubby Man
Rebecca Faulkenberry – Nancy
Katy Geraghty – Broadway Debut – Debbie
Taylor Iman Jones – Broadway Debut – Lady Storm Chaser
Tari Kelly – Piano Teacher
Josh Lamon – Buster
Raymond J. Lee – Ralph
Joseph Medeiros – Deputy
Sean Montgomery – Sheriff
William Parry – Jenson
Jenna Rubaii – Broadway Debut – Joelle
John Sanders – Ned Ryerson
Vishal Vaidya – Broadway Debut – Larry
Travis Waldschmidt – Jeff
Swings: Kevin Bernard, Camden Gonzales, Jordan Grubb and Natalie Wisdom
Understudies: Andrew Call (Phil Connors), Taylor Iman Jones (Nancy, Rita Hanson), Joseph Medeiros (Ned Ryerson), Sean Montgomery (Ned Ryerson, Phil Connors) and Jenna Rubaii (Nancy, Rita Hanson)

Groundhog Day on Broadway Tickets Theatregold Andy Karl Barrett Doss