Sleep No More

“Sleep No More”

at The McKittrick Hotel NYC

Sleep No More is the New York City production of a site-specific, interactive work of theater created by British theatre company Punchdrunk, based on their original 2003 London incarnation (at the Beafoy Building), their Brookline, Massachusetts 2009 collaboration with Boston’s American Repertory Theatre (at the Old Lincoln School), and William Shakespeare’s Macbeth. The company reinvented Sleep No More as a co-production with Emursive, and began performances on March 7, 2011. Sleep No Morewon the 2011 Drama Desk Award for Unique Theatrical Experience and won Punchdrunk special citations at the 2011 Obie Awards for design and choreography. Read More

Sleep No More at

Sleep No More adapts the story of Macbeth, deprived of all spoken dialogue and set primarily in a dimly-lit, 1930s-era establishment called the “McKittrick Hotel”: the website of which claims it has been recently “restored” but is actually a block of warehouses in Manhattan, transformed into a hotel-like performance space. Sleep No More‘s presentational form is considered promenade theatre, in which the audience walks at their own pace through a variety of theatrically designed rooms, as well as environmental theatre, in which the physical location, rather than being a traditional playhouse, is an imitation of the actual setting.


Miguel Anaya
Nick Atkinson
Billy Bell
Ernesto Breton
Marc Cardarelli
Evan Copeland
Stephanic Crousillat
Nick Dillenburg
Kate Douglas
Taylor Drury
Tara Franklin
Mallory Gracenin
Adam Griffith
Eric Jackson Bradley
Ginger Kearns
Marissa Maislen
Emily Oldak
Joe Poulson
Annie Rigney
Elizabeth Romanski
Sarah Stanley
Brandin Steffensen
Kenna Tuski
Maleek Washington
Debra Zalkind
Paul Zivkovich


New York Times

The New Yorker

New York Post

Time Out New York

Associated Press

Entertainment Weekly

New York Daily News


Huffington Post

Sleep No More Official Website Here